About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us



Pacific's Damon Stoudamire is the recipient of the 2020 Ben Jobe Award, which is presented annually to the top minority coach in college basketball.

March 23, 2020


BOSTON, MA -- Pacific head coach Damon Stoudamire is the recipient of the 2019-20 Ben Jobe Award, which is presented annually to the top Division I minority coach.

Picked to finish eighth in the West Coast Conference, Stoudamire led Pacific to a third-place finish. The Tigers finished 23-9 overall and 11-5 in the very compettivie WCC. It was the first time Pacific had won 11 conference games in a decade. The Tigers also spent time ranked in the Mid-Major Top 25 for the first time since the 2009-10 season.

Coach Jobe was an icon in the history of basketball at Historically Black Colleges and Universities, best known as the head coach of the Southern University, a position he held for 12 seasons. He was also head coach at Alabama A&M, Alabama State, Talladega, Tuskegee and South Carolina State. Jobe, who died in 2017, is considered one of the finest men to ever college basketball.

His record at Southern was 209-141 and included four NCAA Tournament appearances. He also coached the Jaguars to one NIT appearance, five SIAC championships, 11 SWAC titles and two NAIA Tournament Championships. Perhaps his most memorable moment as a coach was leading No. 15 seed Southern to a 93-78 win over No. 2 Georgia Tech in the first round of the 1993 NCAA Tournament. It stands as one of the great upsets in the history of the event.


Tommy Amaker, Harvard
Brian Collins, Tennessee State
Ed Cooley, Providence
Anthony Grant, Dayton
Leonard Hamilton, Florida State
Shaheen Holloway, Saint Peter's
Michael Huger, Bowling Green
James Jones, Yale
Joe Jones, Boston University
Mike Jones, Radford
Willie Jones, North Carolina A&T
LaVall Jordan, Butler
Shantay Legans, Eastern Washington 
Anthony Latina, Sacred Heart
Ritchie McKay, Liberty
Mark Montgomery, Northern Illinois
LeVelle Moton, North Carolina Central
David Patrick, UC Riverside
Richie Riley, South Alabama
Kelvin Sampson, Houston
Ron Sanchez, Charlotte
Byron Smith, Prairie View A&M
Damon Stoudamire, Pacific
Darrell Walker, Little Rock
Sean Woods, Southern

Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace Award
Kay Yow Award
More Honors
All-Conference Honors
All-Decade Team
Mid-Major All Decade
Copyright © 2015 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.

Top 10 Individual College Basketball Seasons of the Decade

2019-20 College basketball preview:

Top 8 Preseason Candidates for 2019